Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Vermont Workers' Compensation Posting

The Vermont Department of Labor as updated its Workers' Compensation required posting. The department has changed the title to Worker's Compensation Reinstatement Rights and also added address information.

National Safety Compliance has updated their Vermont Labor Law Posters to reflect these minor changes and any major changes.

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Georgia Conformed Panel Removed

The Georgia State Board of Workers' Compensation has made changes to its required posting. Minor change of benefit amounts increased (6 places of change within posting) and addition of toll-free number in last paragraph for Lawyer Referral Service. These changes were made to the WC-P1 Physician Panel of 6 and also to the WC-P3 WC/MCO Panel or Managed Care Organization.  The WC-P2 9 Physician Panel has been discontinued.  If you have posted the WC-P2 (#LP9GA2), you must replace it with one of the viable, current options.

National Safety Compliance has updated their Georgia Labor Law Posters to reflect these minor changes and any major changes.

Friday, October 9, 2015

Florida Major Change

From the Florida Commission on Human Relations, there has been a new, updated Discrimination posting released. "Pregnancy" has now been added as a protected class of individuals whom employers may not discrimate against.  This updated posting reflects a law change and therefore is a Major change that must be posted in the workplace.  The Florida Commission on Human Relations also updated the posting to reflect their new address at 4075 Esplanade Way Suite 110, Tallahassess, FL 32399

The Florida Department of Revenue has also updated its Unemployment Insurance posting.  The only change was in the verbiage under the third bullet point.  The Department changed the phrase "reemployment assistance benefits" to "unemployment compensation benefits."  This did NOT reflect a law change so it is considered a minor change.

To ensure your compliance with state and federal labor law posting requirements, visit

Monday, October 5, 2015

Minnesota Major Change August 1, 2015

In the 2014 legislative session, Minnesota passed a law that will bring the state's minimum wage up to and passing the federal minimum wage.  Since Minnesota has also indexed their minimum wages to keep up with inflation, the minimum wage will continue to raise.  The schedule of minimum wage increases is as follows:

  • Large employers: $8.00 per hour starting on August 1, 2014; $9.00 on August 1, 2015; and $9.50 on August 1, 2016.
  • Small employers: $6.50 per hour starting on August 1, 2014; $7.25 on August 1, 2015; and $7.75 on August 1, 2016.
  • Training wage (for employees ages 18 and 19 for the first 90 consecutive days of employment): $6.50 starting on August 1, 2014; $7.25 on August 1, 2015; and $7.75 on August 1, 2016.
  • Youth wage (workers under 18): $6.50 starting on August 1, 2014; $7.25 on August 1, 2015; and $7.75 on August 1, 2016.
  • Hotel or resort workers under an Exchange Visitor non-immigrant visa for summer work who receive a lodging or food benefit: $7.25 starting on August 1, 2014; $7.50 on August 1, 2015; and $7.75 on August 1, 2016.
National Safety Compliance Inc has updated their Minnesota Labor Law Poster - Laminated with this new Minimum Wage posting.  

Friday, September 25, 2015

Protecting Pregnant Workers Fairness Act in Washington, DC

The Protecting Pregnant Workers Fairness Act of 2014 (PPW) requires District of Columbia employers to provide reasonable workplace accommodations for employees whose ability to perform job duties is limited because of pregnancy, childbirth, breastfeeding, or a related medical condition. Individuals who believe they were denied a reasonable accommodation or treated unfairly in violation of PPW will be able to file a complaint with the DC Office of Human Rights (OHR). If a violation is found, employers may be required to provide monetary or other relief to the employee. Typical reasonable accommodations can include but are not limited to:
  • More frequent or longer breaks;
  • Time off to recover from childbirth;
  • Temporarily transferring the employee to a less strenuous or hazardous position;
  • Purchasing or modifying work equipment, such as chairs;
  • Temporarily restructuring the employee’s position to provide light duty or a modified work schedule;
  • Permitting the employee to refrain from heavy lifting;
  • Relocating the employee’s work area; or
  • Providing private (non-bathroom) space for expressing breast milk.
Complaints can be filed with the Office of Human Rights (OHR) or the Department of Employment Services (DOES). OHR will perform the initial mediation and investigation, and administrative law judges at the Department of Employment Services will make a final determination.

All District employers must post and maintain a PPW workplace poster in a conspicuous place, and provide an employee notice of the law within 10 days of an employee notifying them of their pregnancy or other condition addressed in the Act.

National Safety Compliance Inc has updated its Washington DC Labor Law Poster with this mandatory required posting as of July 2015.  You may contact NSCI at 1-877-922-7233 to obtain a complete state labor law poster laminated.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Maryland Equal Pay, Employment for Minors

The state of Maryland Licensing and Regulation Division of Labor and Industry has made some changes to the required Equal Pay for Equal Work posting.  The changes are minor since there was no law change.  A paragraph explaining enforcement options for the employee was added, but there was no law change.

The state of Maryland DLLR (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) has also released an updated Work Permit for Minors posting.  The only change made to this posting is the department logo used on the posting.  This is obviously a minor change and does not require an employer to update their employee labor law postings as of yet.

Visit National Safety Compliance's web site for more details of what is included in the Maryland Labor Law Poster - Laminated.

Friday, May 8, 2015

California & Massachusetts: Part-time employees accrue sick leave

On July 1, 2015, a new law goes into effect in both California and Massachusetts for part time employees to begin accruing sick time.  The California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement in the Office of the Labor Commissioner released the updated "Healthy Workplaces / Healthy Families Act of 2014 Paid Sick Leave" posting in November 2014.  National Safety Compliance updated their California Labor Law Poster with this new posting starting in January 2015.  The effective date on this new law is July 1, 2015.

The state of Massachusetts has not released an updated or new required posting to incorporate this new law that is also effective on July 1, 2015. National Safety Compliance has put their Massachusetts Labor Law Poster on hold awaiting the release of an anticipated change.